Well, the holiday knitting is going good. So far, I’ve completed a hat for sister #2 – it’s a great color for her, and there’s enough left over for some matching mittens. I’ve started my brother and sister #3’s scarves, which have been predictably boring. Big long rectangles don’t really interest me, but that’s what they want. They’re each about a quarter of the way done.

In other news, I just started a new job (hooray!), but it’s rather cutting down on my knitting time. I hope I can work quickly and get everything done in time for Christmas. Also, I’ve been really preoccupied with baking recently! Something about fall makes me want to start cooking and baking more…I spent last weekend making apple pies and tarts, and this weekend I’ve got some pumpkins for pies. I have a no-bake pumpkin cream pie that is delicious and super easy…here’s the recipe.

16 oz pumpkin puree
1 package vanilla flavored instant pudding mix
1 cup milk
2 cups Cool Whip
1 graham cracker crust
pumpkin pie spice to taste

Whisk pudding mix and milk together. Add pumpkin puree and spices to taste. Fold in Cool Whip. Pour mixture into the graham cracker crust and chill for at least 30 minutes. If desired, top with more Cool Whip and serve! It can be made up to a day ahead and chilled overnight.

