Apparently, my knitting resolutions are spilling over into the rest of my life. The quality-finishing thing has sort of organically morphed into clothing and fashion in general. For the last few months, I’ve been trying to come to terms with my age…it sounds stupid, but I think I’m having a quarter-life crisis! I still dress and look like I am a young teenager (no joke, people regularly ask if I am 5-10 years younger than I am). It’s really not a good look, especially since it has the unflattering effect of having people treat me as if I am much younger. My wardrobe needs a definite tune-up…so I started watching “What Not to Wear” and LOVING all of the clothes. Of course, who WOULDN’T look good in $200 jeans and a $500 leather blazer…However, I live in the real world, with things like budgets and bills and the champagne taste/beer budget issue. I don’t have unlimited funds or time to shop for an entire new wardrobe.

Also, even if I did have all the time and money I needed, I wouldn’t know where to begin! What IS my personal style, and how do I mesh that with the body I’m currently in? I wish I looked like a supermodel, but I don’t. So a lot of “fashionable” stuff looks awful on me. I think this is a problem with a lot of people: we see what the fashion magazines say is a good look, and either slavishly follow it, or completely dismiss it and go back to jeans-and-hoodies. Neither is really right…so how do you figure out what you really are?

I did a lot of research, studying, and for the next week I’ll be posting some fashion stuff that I’ve been working on. I will be super-critical of myself and my choices, and I’m going to lay it all out there for you, along with the knitting. And hey, knowing myself via fashion can only help my knitting – if I know what looks good, I will be able to make or modify patterns to suit myself.

